Monday, 3 December 2007

Cards Blessed by Church of Enlgand

Talk about a Bandwagon...

"A selection of Christmas greetings cards blessed by the Church of England is set to take the social networking site Facebook by snowstorm this Advent."

"The virtual cards, based on religious themes, can be sent on with a personalised message and are freely available to any of the seven million active users in the UK registered on Facebook."

"The Church of England has worked in partnership with Rechord – a leading web design agency in London, specialising in social networking and web applications for charities – to create the environmentally-friendly virtual cards. The designs feature colourful animations representing key elements of the nativity story, including the journey of the wise men to see the ‘new born King’."
Source : The Church of England

"The idea for the Facebook application follows last year’s Church of England online Advent calendar, (from Rechord : "Would you like a site that not only increases traffic, but persuades your visitors to act?") which received wide media coverage and around 1,000 unique visitors each day during December."

"The slightly not so good thing is that receivers of cards will need to add the application, which they may not wish to do. Adding Facebook applications is of course a bit of a privacy risk as you are giving your information to a third party (the creator of the application) about whom you know nothing. I am of course willing to give the Church of England my information, but not everyone will be."

"Of course if you are a real luddite you could send them an actual card made out of card in the style of yesteryear."

Source : Episcopal Cafe

Also from : Cartoon Church

Coincidence - Cartoon Church Christian greeting cards delightfully reminiscent of Cool Cards Edward Monkton

Rechord deface York Minster Dec. 2006. (Well we never claim to be cutting edge...)

Labels: , , , , , ,

Tuesday, 3 July 2007

Email Scam Alert

Doing the rounds again, or rather still, malware e-cards.
From Snopes

"
Claim: Opening a greeting card from FriendGreetings.com can trigger a software download that will automatically send an e-card to everyone in your address book.

Status: True.

Beware: If you use Microsoft Outlook to access email on your home computers, please keep this warning in mind.

Please be aware of any email inviting you to open a greeting card from "friendgreetings.com". When you go to the Web site to open the greeting card, you will be prompted to install software. You should NOT install this software.

If you were to install this software, "friendgreetings.com" will attempt to send marketing email to everybody in your Microsoft Office address book (friendgreetings.com actually tells you that this will happen in their end-user license agreement). It is bad practice to install an application that knowingly accesses this type of information on your system.


A WARNING FOR ECARD USERS/RECIPIENTS:

There's a new card company called "FriendGreetings.com". The following also applies to:
http://www.laugh-mail.com
http://www.friend-cards.net
http://www.friend-cards.com
http://cool-downloads.net
http://friendgreetings.net
http://friend-greetings.com"

Please, read more at the Greeting Card Association

Labels: , , ,